San Lorenzo Express News

San Lorenzo and the Election

NOVEMBER 11, 2000

School Board ... Three incumbents on the board of the San Lorenzo Unified School District won reelection in the Nov. 7 election. Incumbent Norman Fobert is the board's president and a San Lorenzo resident. Incumbent William Santora is an Ashland resident. Both were elected to their second term on the board. Incumbent Barbara Sidari was elected to her fifth term.

The three challengers were Ray Grangoff, an 18-year-old college student who served as Student Body President for two years at Arroyo High School; Dolores Ragusa-O'Lague, a member of the district's personnel committee since 1993; and Lou Filipovich, a retired businessman and San Leandro resident who is also running this year for a seat on the San Leandro City Council.

The results were:

Barbara Sidari
William Santora
Norman Fobert
Ray Grangoff
Delores Ragusa-O'Lague
Lou Filipovich

Transportation Funding ... Alameda County Measure B extends a half-cent sales tax to finance road construction and repair, and public transportation. A similar measure failed two years ago, but this time Measure B passed with a suprisingly lopsided margin -- 81% to 19% -- no doubt because of the growing frustration with congestion on Bay Area freeways. Measure B lists specific projects that must be funded, and the list includes widening of Lewelling Boulevard to four lanes.

Anti-Sprawl Measure ... Several ballot measures throughout the Bay Area were aimed at limiting development of unused land, and most passed handily. Alameda County Measure D places limits on development in the Livermore Valley. Measure D, and the likelihood of similar future initiatives, will increase pressure on the urban East Bay, including San Lorenzo, to support higher-density land uses and closer proximity of housing and jobs.