San Lorenzo Express News

San Lorenzo High School Establishes Athletic Hall of Fame

MAY 4, 2006

San Lorenzo High School's outstanding athletes, teams, and coaches will be honored in a new Hall of Fame. The first round honorees will inducted at a ceremonial dinner May 13.

The Hall of Fame was conceived by current varsity basketball coach Tom Longaker. Coaches, players, and alumni recommended individuals and teams from which Longaker created the inaugural list of 18 athletes, three coaches, and two championship teams.

Athletes nominated for the Hall of Fame must have demonstrated excellence in athletics through a minimum two-year letter award, all league, or League MVP, or later by receiving an athletic college scholarship or being drafted into professional sports. Coaches must have coached a sport at San Lorenzo for a minimum of five years. Teams must have won a league title, section title, achieved state recognition, or attained record status.

Longaker plans to develop a second list of inductees in a couple years.

The May 13 dinner is open to everyone, but reservations are necessary. The dinner will be held at Paradiso at Willow Park Golf Course, 17007 Redwood Road, Castro Valley. It will begin at 7 p.m., preceded by a no-host bar from 6 to 7. Ticket reservations can be made using the form at the San Lorenzo HS website or by contacting Tom Longaker at the high school, 510.317.3000.

The 2006 honorees are:

Individual Athletes

Chris Anaya, 1972, wrestling
Rich Blanton 1974, football
Andre Bynum, 1980, wrestling
Jay Craney, 1968, football and wrestling
Phil Davis, 1976, basketball
Hal Dohling, 1964, basketball
Manny Fernandez, 1964, football
Bruce Fukayama, 1970, wrestling
Tracy Harris, 1966, swimming/diving
Tim Ireland, 1971, football
Steve Lawson, 1969, baseball
Jeri McMillin, 1954, football
Mel Montalbo, 1957, football
Paul Petros, 1979, football
Ted Quintana, 1973, track
Jerry Smith, 1961, football
Valerie Spence, 1981, track/volleball
Joe Triggs, 1981, wrestling


Jerry Dore, 1958 1989, football
Al Mangin, 1959 1993
Neil Pew, 1967 1985


1955 ACAL Championship Football
1977 NCS Championship Football